IPL 2023 Match 22: MI Vs KKR Key Highlights

Match 22 of the TATA IPL 2023, held on April 16, 2023, at the Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, featured a battle between the Mumbai Indians (MI) and the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). Mumbai won the match by five wickets, thanks to a solid batting performance. Ishan Kishan's aggressive innings of 58 runs off 25 balls, supported by Suryakumar Yadav's 43 off 25 and Tilak Varma's 30 off 25, helped MI chase down KKR's 185/6 with 14 balls to spare. The Mumbai bowlers had bounced back well to restrict KKR to 185/6 after Venkatesh Iyer's maiden century of 104 runs off 51 balls.

MI won the toss and elected to field. Rohit Sharma was unavailable due to a stomach bug, and Suryakumar Yadav led the team. MI made three changes to the starting XI, bringing in Arjun Tendulkar, Duan Jansen, and Tim David in place of Rohit Sharma, Arshad Khan, and Jason Behrendorff. KKR made one change, bringing in Venkatesh Iyer in place of Suyash Sharma.

Arjun Tendulkar opened the bowling for MI and started well, giving away just five runs in the first over. Cameron Green got the first breakthrough for MI when he had N Jagadeesan caught by Hrithik Shokeen at point. Venkatesh Iyer then took charge of the KKR innings, hitting some powerful shots to score a maiden century. Despite his efforts, KKR managed to score only 185/6 in their 20 overs.

Chasing 186, Ishan Kishan got off to a flying start, hitting a couple of fours & a six in the second over from Shardul Thakur. He continued his aggression and hit two sixes and a four off Sunil Narine's over, taking MI to 72/1 at the end of the Powerplay. Kishan completed his fifty in just 21 balls and continued to dominate the KKR bowlers until he got dismissed at 58 runs off 25 balls.

Suryakumar Yadav & Tilak Varma then took over the chase and brought up MI's 100 in the 11th over. Suryakumar Yadav smashed two sixes to Lockie Ferguson and continued to bat aggressively, scoring 43 runs off 25 balls. Tim David hit a couple of sixes to Varun Chakravarthy to take MI closer to the target. With just two runs needed off 17 balls, MI lost Nehal Wadhera to a catch behind by Ferguson. However, David hit the winning run with 14 balls to spare, finishing unbeaten on 24 off 13 balls.

In the end, it was a comprehensive victory for MI, who maintained their winning streak in the tournament. Venkatesh Iyer's heroic innings went in vain as KKR failed to defend their total. It was an exciting match with some brilliant performances from both teams, and the spectators at the Wankhede Stadium were treated to an entertaining evening of cricket.